La Rochelle Chapter

A meeting of the Huguenot Society of California was held March 25, 1982 to discuss re-organizing the Society into a State Society and two chapters, there being approximately the same number of members living in Southern California and in the San Francisco Bay Area.

It was suggested by several members that the name of the Southern California group be called the La Rochelle Chapter, La Rochelle being the last stronghold of the Huguenots in their battle against persecution by the Roman Catholic Hierarchy. Mrs. Lloyd Franklin Wheeler was elected to serve as the first president of the chapter.

Regular meetings are held on the third Wednesday of October, January, March, and May, or as called by the President.

Additional information may be obtained by contacting Chapter President David Lawrence Grinnell by email at

La Rochelle Chapter Officers 2013-2015

Mr. David Lawrence Grinnell
Vice President
Mr. Ward Clemence White
Mr. James Quinnelly
Recording Secretary
Corresponding Secretary
Mr. Harry H. Holgate
Mrs. Philip M. Kent (Gloria)

La Rochelle Chapter - Scholarship Award

The La Rochelle Chapter of the Huguenot Society
of California sponsors a scholarship for a student
who is enrolled at an accredited college or graduate
school, who has had at least two semesters of history
which include, at least in part, a history of religion.

An application packet is available from the Chair of
the Scholarship Committee, and from various colleges
and graduate schools within the state of California.

The scholarship is renewable for another year upon
application of the scholarship recipient and approval
of the Scholarship Committee

Completed applications are to be returned by
January 15th to:
David Lawrence Grinnell
Chair Scholarship Committee
3501 Desert Creek Trail
Palm Springs, California 92262-9754

Incomplete applications will not be considered.

Prior Recipients
  • 1998-1999 Cyrus Masroori
  • 1999-2000 Stacey Searl-Chapin
  • 2000-2001 Stacy Searl-Chapin
  • 2001-2002 Janet Deacon
  • 2002-2003 Janet Deacon / Giovan King / Courtney Spikes
  • 2003-2004 Giovan King
  • 2004-2005 Professor John C. Laursen / Cyrus Masroori
  • 2005-2006 Michelle America Du Vigneaud
  • 2008-2009 Elizabeth Friend (Ford)
  • 2009-2010 Simone Antonia Oppen
  • 2010-2011 Elizabeth Friend Ford

LaRochelle Chapter - Past Presidents

Mrs. Lloyd F. Wheeler
Mrs. Brallier F. Gillin
Mr. Jean Landon Taylor
Mrs. J. Harvey Seiple
Mrs. Ralph J. Fisher
Mrs. J. Harvey Seiple
Mrs. J. Selmer Robertson, Jr.
Mrs. Lawrence M. Rothrock
Ms. Barbara Whatley
Mr. Wayne J. Rogers
Ms. Joy Garrison Cauffman, PhD.
Mr. David Lawrence Grinnell

French Cathedral, Berlin, Germany

Picture of French Cathedral in Berlin, Germany

Französischer Dom (French Cathedral) is the colloquial naming for the Temple de la Friedrichstadt, (Französische Friedrichstadtkirche) located in Berlin on the Gendarmenmarkt.